Health & Social Care

BTEC Health and Social Care courses are vocational qualifications that enable students to gain knowledge, skills and experience of working within the field of health or social care.

These courses develop students understanding of how people grow and develop, the laws and frameworks that health and social care professional work within, the rights service users have and how to ensure these rights are met within health and social care. 

The courses are designed to allow flexible progression routes, moving on to advanced level studies or further training and/or employment. They provide an excellent foundation for those seeking employment in a wide range of careers such as Nursing / Health Visiting, Social Work, Occupational Therapy, childcare, Physiotherapy and Teaching.

key stage 4

All students in key stage 4 at Dormers Wells High School have the option to follow the BTEC Award, in Health & Social Care:

BTEC Tech Award in Health & Social Care is equivalent to one GCSE grade A* - C and covers the following topics:

  • Component 1 Human Lifespan Development (Coursework)
  • Component 2 Health & Social Care Services and Values (Coursework)
  • Component 3: Health and Wellbeing (controlled assessment)

Following the successful completion of the BTEC Tech Award students can progress to the Level 3 Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care in 6th Form.

Level 3 Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care is a two year course which can be completed at Pass, Merit or Distinction Level and is equivalent to 3 A Levels which can then be transferred into UCAS points for university entry.

This level 3 course includes 3 external assessed written exams and one research project which is assessed by an external examiner.

The Health & Social Care courses are designed to provide students with opportunities to:

  • Develop their knowledge, understanding and skills to meet the needs of the Health & Social Care Sectors.
  • Understand the role of the health & social care workers, their relationship with patients / service users and the wider health & social care sectors.
  • Develop a range of skills and techniques, personal qualities and attributes essential for a successful performance in working life.
Key stage 5

BTEC Nationals are widely recognised by industry and higher education as the signature vocational qualification either at Level 3, allowing direct progression into the workplace or via study at a higher level. A Level 3 BTEC course is equivalent in weighting to three A level subjects.

Mandatory Units:

Unit 1 Human Lifespan Development (Written Exam)

Unit 2 Working in Health and Social Care (Written Exam)

Unit 3 Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care (Written Exam)

Unit 4 Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care (Controlled assessment and externally assessed)

Unit 5 Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (written assignment)

Unit 6 Work Experience (written assignment and work placements)

Unit 7 Principles of safe Practice in Health and Social Care (written assignment)

Unit 8 Promoting Public Health ((written assignment)


Optional units:

Unit 11 Psychological Perspective (written assignment)

Unit 12 Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs (written assignment)

Unit 17 Caring for Individuals with Dementia (written assignment)

Unit 18 Assessing Children’s Development Support Needs (written assignment)

Unit 19 Nutritional Health (written assignment)


Career Opportunities / Routes

This course readily enables progression to Higher Education in health, social care and early years. It provides an excellent foundation for those seeking employment in a wide range of careers such as nursing/ health visitor, social work, occupational therapy, social administration, physiotherapy and teaching.


The course is exam and coursework based.

There are in total 13 units which students must complete. Students must pass all 13 units to achieve this qualification.

There are three exams and one research project which is assessed by an external examiner. Out of the 13 units, 8 are assessed through a portfolio of evidence.

Each unit can be credited at Pass, Merit, Distinction or Distinction* level.


useful links